Lemon and Garlic Chickpea Dip

Lemon and Garlic Chickpea Dip

I only had a few minutes to make something for lunch today, so I searched Pinterest for a quick chickpea dip and this is what I found! It’s super quick and super good.

What you need:
1 can of chickpeas (it called for a 400g can, but my can was a little bigger)
2-3 cloves of garlic
Zest of 1 lemon
Juice of 1/2 a lemon
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1 tablespoon of chopped parsley
3-4 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil

**FYI: I did a little substituting here…I didn’t have any lemons, so I used bottled lemon juice…would be awesome with the zest and fresh lemon juice! I also had dried parsley, but used the same amount. I did 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil (EVOO) and 2 tablespoons of extra light olive oil because sometimes EVOO’s flavor is a little strong for me.

What to do:
Drain and rinse your chickpeas, then put them in the food processor.

Puree all ingredients in the food processor to form a thick paste.

**FYI: I added the olive oil one tablespoon at a time, blending in between. That way I didn’t make the dip too runny.

Add more salt / lemon juice as needed.

Serve with tortilla or pita chips!

Like I said, super quick and super yummy!

Enjoy!

Credit: http://allrecipes.com.au/recipe/10750/lemon-and-garlic-chickpea-dip.aspx

Leave a Reply

