Baked Sweet & Sour Chicken

Baked Sweet & Sour Chicken

I was craving chinese food last night, so what did I do? I went to Pinterest, of course! This recipe came up and caught my attention because it looked so good! (Not sure why the title of the picture is backwards and upside down, but hey, what are you gonna do?)

What you need:
3 – 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I only did 1 large breast since I was only cooking for me)
1 1/2 cups of cornstarch
3 eggs, beaten
~1/4 cup of canola oil (you could also use veggie oil here)
1 cup of granulated sugar
4 tablespoons of ketchup
1/4 cup of white vinegar
1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon low sodium soy sauce
1 teaspoon of garlic salt
Salt & pepper to taste

**FYI: 1) You can also add a little bit of sesame oil to your canola oil when you make this! I didn’t have any sesame seeds to sprinkle on top, so this was the next best thing. I love sesame oil – it adds awesome flavor! 2) I found that 1 cup of sugar was too much (found out after the fact that the sauce was TOO sweet, so I had to do a bit of fixing…more white vinegar, more soy sauce and a splash of lemon juice. Which brings me to my next point: 3) I used coconut aminos instead of soy sauce. It’s healthier and tastes exactly the same as soy sauce to me! Love that stuff. 4) TASTE AS YOU GO WHEN MAKING THE SAUCE!! 🙂 Can’t stress that enough.

What to do:
Preheat your oven to 325 degrees.

Cut your chicken breasts into bite-sized pieces and season with salt and pepper.
(I definitely forgot to season my chicken pieces beforehand…I strongly recommend it.)

Grab 2 bowls and put your cornstarch in one and beaten eggs in the other.

Heat canola (and sesame) oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.

**FYI: Get the biggest pan you have. I only had one chicken breast and it took forever to brown my pieces because I had to do 4 batches…Can’t imagine how long it would have taken if I had 3-4 breasts to cook! Hindsight is 20/20…

Dip your SEASONED (haha) chicken into the cornstarch, then into the eggs. Then put directly into the hot oil. Fry away! Cook until you have browned both sides of the chicken pieces.

**FYI: No need to cook all the way through…you’re putting it into the oven, too!

The original recipe doesn’t call for this, but I drained my chicken pieces on a couple of paper towels when I took them out of the pan. After draining, put into a greased 9 x 13 baking dish.

If you’re good at multitasking, while the chicken is browning in the pan, you can make your sauce! Or not…whichever you feel most comfortable with. In a mixing bowl, combine sugar, ketchup, apple cider vinegar, white vinegar, soy sauce/aminos, and garlic salt.

Once all of your chicken is browned and you have put it in the casserole dish, pour your sauce over the chicken and bake for 1 hour.

**FYI: Since I only had one chicken breast and I cut my pieces small enough, I just did about 35-40 minutes in the oven. About halfway through, I used tongs to move the chicken around so the chicken would be coated in sauce.

Want to know how I ate it? I put the chicken and some bean sprouts in a lettuce wrap with a few drops of coconut aminos on top :). It would have been good with a little bit of rice on there, too. I have leftovers and I know what I’m eating for lunch today!

All in all, this was a pretty easy recipe…and successful! It was just a little time consuming because I didn’t have a big enough pan!

Enjoy!

Credit: http://www.lovewithrecipe.com/recipe/91.html

Leave a Reply

