Homemade Taco Seasoning

Homemade Taco Seasoning

Homemade Taco Seasoning
So much healthier than the store-bought, packaged seasoning that comes with the taco kits. It’s also extremely easy to make!! I made it a while ago, but used it last night for the first time. AWESOME!

What you need:
1 tablespoon of chili powder
1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon of onion powder
1/4 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes (I didn’t add any of these. If you want a little kick, keep these on your list!)
1/4 teaspoon of dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon of paprika
1 1/2 teaspoons of ground cumin
1/2 – 1 teaspoon of sea salt (Remember: you can always add more, but you can’t take it out if there’s too much! Err on the side of caution.)
1 teaspoon of black pepper

What to do:
Add all ingredients to an airtight container (I chose a mason jar because it’s cute…). Tighten the lid, and shake them all together!

When making your ground meat:
Add 2 – 3 tablespoons of this seasoning, plus 1/2 – 3/4 cup of water per one pound of meat.

**FYI: I just eyeballed the amount of water and seasoning. I browned two pounds of meat, drained the fat, then added it all back into the pan (like you would for a taco kit). I added some water and some seasoning and cooked it until most of the liquid was evaporated. I tasted the meat as I seasoned it, so I could get it to the way I wanted it. I recommend doing this!

Credit: http://www.rachelcooks.com/2011/10/28/homemade-taco-seasoning/

One thought on “Homemade Taco Seasoning

  1. Pingback: Creamy Southwest Chicken Soup | An Awesome & Amazing Life

Leave a Reply

