The Best: Roasted Winter Vegetables

The Best: Roasted Winter Vegetables

What you need:
12 cups of vegetables cut into bite-sized pieces (see directions for suggestions on what to use!)
3/4 cup of olive oil
1/8 cup of Worcestershire sauce, plus 1 tablespoon extra
1 1/2 tablespoons of paprika
1 tablespoon of garlic salt
2 large mixing bowls

**FYI: I have never used exact measurements for this recipe. I usually just eyeball the amount of veggies and marinade that I use. Just be sure to make enough marinade to where all of the veggies are touched or covered.

 

What to do:
Preheat your oven to 425 degrees.

Select your root vegetables. I use red potatoes and carrots, but you can use any kind you would like!

Select your softer vegetables. My favorites are red/yellow peppers, zucchini, onions, and green beans. When I gave my Mom the recipe, she added brussel sprouts and it was really good! You could also use mushrooms, asparagus, garlic, etc. Again, you can use whatever you like!

**FYI: When chopping your vegetables, it’s easiest to keep the root veggies separate from the softer ones from the start. That way you don’t have to go through everything to pick them out.

Once you have your root veggies in one bowl and the soft veggies in another, mix your marinade. As I said before, you may need to make more or less, depending on the amount of veggies you have.

Pour your marinade over the vegetables, making sure all of them are covered and/or touched by the liquid.

**FYI: I marinate my veggies for an hour to an hour and a half. The original recipe does not call for this, but I found that they are much more flavorful when you have time to marinate them. I strongly suggest you do so!

Spread your root veggies onto a cookie sheet with some of the marinade and bake at 425 degrees for about 15 minutes, until the veggies start getting softer.

Add in your peppers, onions, etc. (softer veggies) and some more of the marinade so the vegetables are coated in the liquid.

Continue baking for another 15 minutes. Until the veggies are fork tender.

**FYI: Keep your eye on everything. Depending on the amount, it could take more or less time. Because I usually make a lot of this at once, it takes more than 15 minutes during the second round of baking. After 15 minutes is up, I keep checking on it every 3-5 minutes.

Enjoy!!

I make this as a main course, or a side dish depending on my mood! I usually have leftovers, so my favorite way of heating them up the next day is in a lightly oiled pan. You could also use the microwave, but because I have a weird “thing” about microwaved leftovers, I think it’s easier to reheat them in a pan!

Credit: http://www.iheartnaptime.net/roasted-winter-vegetables/

Leave a Reply

