Crock Pot Coconut Curry Chicken

Crock Pot Coconut Curry Chicken

Crock Pot Coconut Curry Chicken

What you need:
2 boneless/skinless chicken breasts, cubed
5 large carrots, peeled and diced
1 medium onion, peeled and quartered
2 cloves of garlic, peeled
1 large bell pepper, seeded and chopped (I used a green pepper)
1 (5 oz.) can of tomato paste
1 (14 oz.) can of coconut milk
1 1/2 teaspoons of salt
1 tablespoon of curry powder
1 tablespoon of garam masala (sold at Harris Teeter or any regular grocery store)
1 jalapeno, seeded and halved OR 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
2 tablespoons of water
1 1/2 tablespoons of cornstarch

**FYI:
1) I was dumb when I was at the store and forgot to grab an onion for this, so I made it without. It was still wonderful.
2) The original recipe didn’t call for it, but I added POTATOES! It was wonderful!!
3) I used the smallest jalapeno I could find and it was perfect on the spice level. I’m not a huge fan of spicy though. Be sure to wear gloves when cutting the jalapeno!! I washed my hands multiple times afterwards, rubbed my eye about 4 hours later, and it was still extremely painful.

What to do:
Grease your crock pot with Pam or any cooking spray. Place the chicken and the carrots in the bottom.

Chop and seed your bell pepper. Add it, along with the onion, garlic, tomato paste, coconut milk, salt, curry powder, garam masala, and jalapeno into your food processor or blender.

**FYI: If you have a small food processor like I do, start with the bell pepper, onion, and garlic and blend until frothy. Then add each remaining item, one at a time until everything is blended. I didn’t have room to add the coconut milk, so I just added it into the crock pot at the same time as the blended items and stirred it really well.

Pour the sauce over the chicken and carrots, mix well, then cover and cook on low for about 6 hours.

**FYI: I cooked it on high for about 4 1/2 – 5 hours.

When the mixture has about an hour left, dissolve the cornstarch in water in a small bowl and pour into the crock pot. Stir everything again and keep cooking for an hour. (This thickens the sauce.)

Serve over rice.

Enjoy!!

Credit: http://sweettreatsmore.com/2012/10/slow-cooker-coconut-curry-chicken/

Leave a Reply

